Adrift in Art: Poem set to Edward Hopper’s Nighthawks

Screen Shot 2016-10-13 at 2.13.58 PM.png

Night’s shadow lours upon the world
And the streets are silent like the
Netherworld—without a single
Morning soul to be seen or heard.
But amidst the dimness is a lone
Lit nest serving toffee flavored coffee,
And as the jukebox sings “Do I Worry” ,
Wistful nighthawks gather to ponder
From midnight to twilight, minding
Only their lonely aloof thoughts,
And to be adrift in surreal reverie,
During this moonlit lull when the
Sun shines bright but in dreamworld.

Note: Do I Worry is an Ink Spots song.

Poem released into Public Domain 

6 thoughts on “Adrift in Art: Poem set to Edward Hopper’s Nighthawks

  1. i can hear this sang by Tom Waits back when he told stories accompanied by a saxophonist & double bassist, hissing & grating through it, annunciating manically.
    You capture the mood of the scene well enough, but i don’t think you go to town on the chiaroscuro of the painting & the character’s minds inhabiting it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Daniel, thanks for being the first to comment. To be honest, I would enjoy sitting all night in a comfy cafe or diner in a deserted town like in the painting. I am pensive by nature, and I often feel like a character in Hopper’s various paintings. Also, I didn’t even know someone had set this to music, thanks for broadening my knowledge!

      Like

  2. I think you misunderstood. This painting hasn’t been set to music. But the feeling is like a Tom Wait’s song. He actually wrote an album called Nighthawks at the Diner.
    I would recommend trying to write without end rhymes. Do you begin a poem with an idea to use end rhymes?

    Like

    1. I see. Also, I don’t always use end rhymes, some are free verse, others are blank verse (A Stranger’s Warmth), and my poem alluding to Edward Hopper’s Four Lane Road to the Appian Way (please have a look) uses end rhymes (it is in quatrain style).Overall, I decide the form to use based on my inspiration and impression.

      Like

      1. That’s good. I recommend experimenting with a longer line. Give yourself some freedom. You’ll be surprised what you find whilst crafting when the lines are more open. Just a little advice as the poem seems tight. Try expanding it is liberating.

        Like

      2. Thanks for the advice, I have been wanting to move towards prose poetry where I can expand the lines. Right now, I am more influenced by trimeter, tetrameter and pentameter styles (even when I right free) that demand tighter lines. Also, what is your opinion of the magazines, do you think you would like to have a go at getting the inn and cafe featured?

        Like

Leave a Reply

