Ode to Ven. Master Hai Xian (1901-2013)

screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-9-42-31-am
Ven. Master Hai Xian (1901-2013)

My riches are here: Old robes and alms bowl,
With these I free myself from worldly toil,
With these I sow and plough the Dharma field,
And shatter all that wicked Maras yield,

My will is here: In wisdom genuine,
With resolve to soar beyond the three realms,
And sail across the cruel seas of greed
To halcyon shores of blissful Bodhi,

My heart is here: Amongst Tathagatas,
Firm in the lotus pond of Amita,
Day and night, it is wise within the Way,
Never in dust nor adrift and away.

I strongly recommend everyone watch the following biographic documentary (English subtitles) of Master Hai Xian’s inspiring and amazing life of cultivation and Pure Land rebirth:

 

Recommended Resources:

Infinite Life Sutra Translation and Intro

Beagle Meets Amitabha

Poem, linked texts and post released into Public Domain

17 thoughts on “Ode to Ven. Master Hai Xian (1901-2013)

      1. That documentary is really well done.
        And as I said. Your poem is beautiful, it explains what ive been trying to explain in my last couple posts.
        There are lots of very good Pure Land sources on Youtube. I think I might complile a list of free online resources for people interested in Pure Land Buddhism (your blog and your Sutra Translations would be on there of course).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I can’t thank you enough for the kindness you’ve shown me and for your ceaseless efforts to spread the Dharma, may all your endeavors proceed as smoothly as a ship sailing amid favorable winds in serene waters!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

